Facts about China: General Information

China is situated in eastern Asia, bounded by the Pacific in the east. The third largest country in the world, next to Canada and Russia, it has an area of 9.6 million square kilometers, or one-fifteenth of the world's land mass. It begins from the confluence of the Heilong and Wusuli rivers (135 degrees and 5 minutes east longitude) in the east to the Pamirs west of Wuqia County in Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region (73 degrees and 40 minutes east longitude) in the west, about 5,200 kilometers apart; and from the midstream of the Heilong River north of Mohe (53 degrees and 31 minutes north latitude) in the north to the southernmost island Zengmu'ansha in the South China Sea (4 degrees and 15 minutes north latitude), about 5,500 kilometers apart. The border stretches over 22,000 kilometers on land and the coastline extends well over 18,000 kilometers, washed by the waters of the Bohai, the Huanghai, the East China and the South China seas. The Bohai Sea is the inland sea of China. There are 6,536 islands larger than 500 square meters, the largest is Taiwan, with a total area of about 36,000 square kilometers, and the second, Hainan. The South China Sea Islands are the southernmost island group of China.

Capital: Bejing

Date of Establishment Of People's Republic of China: October 1st, 1994


Year Total Population Urban Population Rural Population
1995 1.21121 billion    
1996 1.22389 billion 359.5 million (29.4%) 864.39 million (70.6%)
1997 1.23626 billion 369.89 million (29.9%) 866.37 million (70.1%)
1998 1.24810 billion    
Year Birth Rate (Per Thousand) Death Rate (per thousand) Natural Growth Rate (per thousand)
1995 17.12 6.57  
1996 16.98 6.56 10.42
1997 16.57 6.51 10.06
1998 16.30 6.50 9.53

The year of 1998 saw19.91 million births, 8.07 million deaths of the population, with a net growth polulation of 11.84 million (compared with 12.37 million in 1997).

Life Spand: 70.8 years (male =  68.71, female =  73.04)

(Some of the above data are based on the report from China National Statistics Bureau)

Administative Divisions: 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 municipalities and 1 Special Administrative Region.

State Organs:

The National People's Congress (NPC)
The President of the People's Republic of China
The State Council
The Central Military Commission
The Supreme People's Court
The Supreme People's Procuratorate


Armed Force: the People's Liberation Army (PLA)

The Ruling Party: the Communist Party of China (CPC)

The President: Jiang Zemin

Official Holidays: New Year's Day (January 1), Chinese New Year's Day (Jan. or Feb.), International Women's Working Day (March 8), Arbor Day (March 12), International Labor Day (May  1), Youth Day (May 4), International Children's Day (June 1), Anniversary of the Founding of the Communist Party (July 1),  Anniversary of the Founding of the Chinese PLA (August 1), Teacher’s Day (September 10) and National Day (October 1).

Official Language: Mandarin (coomon speech)

Nationalities: The People's Republic of China is a unified, multi-national country, comprising 56 nationalities. The Han people make up 91.02 percent of the total population, leaving 8.98 percent for the other 55 ethnic minorities. They are Mongolian, Hui, Tibetan, Uygur, Miao, Yi, Zhuang, Bouyei, Korean, Manchu, Dong, Yao, Bai, Tujia, Hani, Kazak, Dai, Li, Lisu, Va, She, Gaoshan, Lahu, Shui, Dongxiang, Naxi, Jingpo, Kirgiz, Tu, Daur, Mulam, Qiang, Blang, Salar, Maonan, Gelo, Xibe, Achang, Pumi, Tajik, Nu, Ozbek, Russian, Ewenki, Benglong, Bonan, Yugur, Jing, Tatar, Drung, Oroqen, Hezhen, Moinba, Lhoba and Gelo. All nationalities in China are equal according to the law. The State protects their lawful rights and interests and promotes equality, unity and mutual help among them.

Religions: China is a multi-religious country. Buddhism, Taoism, Islam, Catholicism and Protestantism, with the first three being more wide spread.Various religions exert different influence on different ethnic groups. Islam is followed by the Hui, Uygur, Kazak, Kirgiz, Tatar, Dongxiang, Salar and Bonan nationalities; Buddhism and Lamaism are followed by the Tibetan, Mongolian, Dai and Yugur nationalities; Christianity is followed by the Miao, Yao and Yi nationalities; Shamanism is followed by the Oroqen, Ewenki and Daur nationalities; the majority Han nationality believes in Buddhism, Christianity and Taoism.

Currency: Renminbi.

(Sourece: Chinatoday.com)



Click here to visit our sponsor
The Datacom Ad Network

Copyright 1999-2000, Chinatown Online Co. All rights reserved.